Why Run?

I first entertained the idea of running a marathon when I was 25. Nothing happened. I revisited the idea as I approached a milestone birthday. My 30th. Running a marathon seems arduous, and not something that the average person can mentally conceive attempting.

At the time, I knew that I could do it: I’m physically fit, and relatively durable. It was just a matter of commitment. I bought expensive running shoes, hag tasting protein powder, and paid for several races leading up to the L.A. Marathon. That’s a huge commitment for me.

With less the marathon 18 days away, I’m terrified. I still believe that I am physically capable, but now I’m worried about being mentally ready. I plan on going through with it because…well, I would hate myself if I just quit. Especially since it’s based on fear.

Leave a Reply

