The [Failed] Art of Taking A Selfie

I feel like there should be a book on how to take a selfie that doesn’t make you look like you’ve just learned how to use a smartphone five hours ago. Okay, the book probably exist already. There’s probably a blogger with a blog dedicated to blogging decent selfies. I, however have such a hard time with them.

photo1

First off, I feel incredibly vain and/or dorky when taking them. That’s not a good combo.

 photo2

Sometimes I get lucky and get a pic that looks like I’m possibly Instagram famous.

photo3

Other times, not so much.

photo4

This is somewhat of a dilemma for me. See, I can tell you right now that I am not one of those bloggers who has enough discretionary income to hire someone to follow me around and take awesome photos of me. I’m not knocking the bloggers that do have such a luxury, but I only have my semi-embarrassing selfies thanks to my handy dandy iPhone5. As a blogger, the first thing you need is a ton of awesome selfies and/or photos taken with a fancy DSLR camera. Which is what kept me from blogging before now.
I’m lying. Life kinda got in the way. But the self photo thing was definitely an issue. Someone (or some blogger) said that the only way you get good at it is by practicing. So I decided to just post what I have, and maybe the pressure to not look like a total amateur will give me no other choice but to improve.

photo6

Leave a Reply

